ICTM logo
CTU Director Janet Darbyshire honoured by the Royal Statistical Society and the Society for Clinical Trials

09 March 2010

The honour from the Royal Statistical Society is in recognition of her "use, interpretation and presentation of statistics in the world of clinical trials, particularly in the treatment of tuberculosis and the prevention and treatment of HIV, and also for the emphasis she has given to the need for clear statistical thinking for a problem and the importance of having statisticians involved in all projects".

The Honorary Fellowship of the Society for Clinical Trials is awarded to "members who have made significant contributions to the advancement of clinical trials and who have the admiration of an entire generation of peers."

Janet has received three prestigious awards this year, as she was made a Commander of the Order of the British Empire (CBE) for services to Clinical Science in the recent New Years Honours list.

Janet will be retiring from her role as Director of the MRC Clinical Trials Unit at the end of March, and will be succeeded by Professor Mahesh (Max) Parmar.